0989: "Cryogenics"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

Clayh

0989: "Cryogenics"

Postby Clayh » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:04 am UTC

http://xkcd.com/989/

Alt Text: 'Welcome to the future! Nothing's changed.' was the slogan of my astonishingly short-lived tech startup.

It's a time machine that takes 60 minutes to bring you forward an hour in time!
EDIT: I'm not good at this picture linking stuff, am I?

Angrist

Re: 0989: "Cryogenics"

Postby Angrist » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:07 am UTC

Obviously Astronaut Stewart from Planet of the Apes is in the cryo chamber right behind the guy's head. (That's why it's not opening - there was an air leak and she's desiccated now.)

KShrike

Postby KShrike » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:18 am UTC

Am I the only one who saw this coming?
What's the 1000th going to be like, since we are like 11 away?
What's with this new surge of Randall actually being funny?
On 10/10/10, My Little Pony started to appeal to adult males. Ya rly!
Forget the /b/ memes, and go watch the show and see what I mean. After all, the /b/ memes exist because the show itself is so cleverly written. Check it out!

Coyne

Postby Coyne » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:24 am UTC

Uh-oh. Looks like nothing much is changing 'til 895,000 AD or so.
In all fairness...

Kick

Postby Kick » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:26 am UTC

KShrike wrote:Am I the only one who saw this coming?

It hadn't crossed my mind in the slightest, but then again, I'm not very intelligent.
Maybe it's like the lead up to the ending of The Great Dictator, he'll be funny for a long time, and then at the end give a shockingly poignant and inspiring speech.
I'm never sarcastic.

zarathud

Postby zarathud » Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:27 am UTC

The right answer is to develop life extension. Then you get to help build the future AND live in it.
Last edited by zarathud on Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:30 am UTC, edited 1 time in total.

rhomboidal