1667: "Algorithms"

This forum is for the individual discussion thread that goes with each new comic.

Moderators: Moderators General, Prelates, Magistrates

m1el

1667: "Algorithms"

Postby m1el » Wed Apr 13, 2016 5:06 am UTC

Title text: There was a schism in 2007, when a sect advocating OpenOffice created a fork of Sunday.xlsx and maintained it independently for several months. The efforts to reconcile the conflicting schedules led to the reinvention, within the cells of the spreadsheet, of modern version control.

I've been doing web scraping for 10 years, and I still run into web-sites that give me troubles.

Farabor

Re: 1667: "Algorithms"

Postby Farabor » Wed Apr 13, 2016 5:12 am UTC

I have a compsci friend who's often griped about people misusing excel for things that it's not suited for :)

cyanyoshi

Postby cyanyoshi » Wed Apr 13, 2016 5:17 am UTC

Aaaand today I learned there are video games made in Excel. I know what I'm doing this weekend! :wink:

sotanaht

Postby sotanaht » Wed Apr 13, 2016 6:54 am UTC

cyanyoshi wrote:Aaaand today I learned there are video games made in Excel. I know what I'm doing this weekend! :wink:

What, you've never heard of Eve Online?

Yu_p

Postby Yu_p » Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:33 am UTC

sotanaht wrote:
cyanyoshi wrote:Aaaand today I learned there are video games made in Excel. I know what I'm doing this weekend! :wink:

That one is played in Excel.

I found "6 Entertaining Games Made Entirely in Microsoft Excel" though. When I read cyanyoshi's post I honestly thought it a reference to some April fools hoax :roll:

CharonPDX

Postby CharonPDX » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:19 am UTC

And that line is logarithmic, right?

Because I know I have 15 year old, giant spreadsheets that defy the laws of mathematics.

eviloatmeal

Postby eviloatmeal » Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:27 am UTC

sotanaht wrote:What, you've never heard of Eve Online?

EVE is actually written in Python.

Spoiler:

Code: Select all

#!/usr/bin/python

import antigravity