Federal income tax on sold textbooks

The school experience. School related queries, discussions, and stories that aren't specific to a subject.

Moderators: gmalivuk, Moderators General, Prelates

WinstonChurchill

Federal income tax on sold textbooks

Postby WinstonChurchill » Sun Sep 09, 2012 6:15 pm UTC

(I'm banking on the "if you put enough intelligent people in one place, somebody ought to know the answer to about any given question" theory here...)

I'm a college student, and I usually sell my textbooks on Amazon at the end of each semester. Apparently, Amazon has a new policy that if you sell more than 45 items, you have to submit a W9 or they'll terminate your account. So obviously I'll have to report the income on my taxes.

Getting taxed on it is somewhat problematic because over the past year I've sold many of my friends' books through my seller's account, not keeping any of the money for myself, and it would stink to pay taxes on that money because I'm a nice guy. I suppose I should have seen this coming, but it hasn't been an issue for the past two years... The revenue amounts to about $1200.

Can I call my selling of books on Amazon a sole proprietorship business and claim a business loss on Schedule C for the sale of my books? Even if I figure a cost-basis of zero for the books I sold for others, the loss on my own books alone ends up making an aggregate loss (the books are usually sold for less than half what I bought them for). The amount is low enough I wouldn't have to file Schedule SE and pay self employment tax, so that's not an issue.

If it makes it more justifiable as a business, I also sell other small things on Amazon, such as old CD's and electronic components.

Thanks!

Bakemaster
pretty nice future dick

Re: Federal income tax on sold textbooks

Postby Bakemaster » Mon Sep 10, 2012 4:59 am UTC