ITT: comment drawings

Think your art is better or your stick figures worse? Got a link to a site you want to share? Post it here!

Moderators: Jacque, Moderators General, Prelates

tastelikecoke

ITT: comment drawings

Postby tastelikecoke » Thu May 27, 2010 8:17 am UTC

I am an aspiring artist. However, I am an anxious one too. So I have been into drawing just recently and I want to improve in it. But according to people around here, A great way to improve them is by showing people your art and let them criticize it.

Me wants you guys to comment on my drawings. That's what I am blabbering out here.
You can be harsh too, But I don't want very harsh and boastful comments either.
----
Spoiler:

so here's my spoileriffic line art. Please tell me what I need to improve. Go go go.

Omegaton

Re: ITT: comment drawings

Postby Omegaton » Thu May 27, 2010 4:57 pm UTC

Hopefully this doesn't come off as too harsh...

Was that the first pass, or did you do sketches first and then draw over it? I'll admit I'm fairly dependent on sketches (my sister draws pretty good art without doing any sketches and I just don't understand how she does it), however, IMO sketches help a ton to get an idea of the drawing before doing the lineart.

You've got some proportions starting to come together, but I think you need to keep practicing your proportions and anatomy. I can see you're hiding one of the hands since, I assume, you're uncomfortable drawing them (this is a fairly common cheat and I've done it too). Anatomy and proportions are covered in tons of how-to-draw books because of just how important it is.

Also, I can't actually tell what she's holding on her head.

tastelikecoke

Postby tastelikecoke » Fri May 28, 2010 1:07 am UTC

Omegaton wrote:Hopefully this doesn't come off as too harsh...