Need ideas for high carb food

Apparently, people like to eat.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

KrazyerKate

Need ideas for high carb food

Postby KrazyerKate » Sun Nov 07, 2010 3:40 pm UTC

So I'm gonna try running another half-marathon this winter, and I'm new to cooking. I've been making casseroles (macaroni+chopped meat+copped veggies+gravy), spaghetti, and pizza (who knew dough+cheese was such a winner?), and things are just getting boring. I'm looking for stuff I can cook up en masse for my disconcertingly large appetite. In this situation, Quantity tops Quality: Spaghetti is usually a pretty boring meal, but when it only takes a couple minutes to boil up a meal for four people (or one me), it's pretty fantastic. Most recipes online are designed for flavor (obviously), and aren't very large. Even crappy cheap food like Ramen or Hungry-Man, whose high amounts of sodium I'd be willing to put up with, are pretty inconveniently small. So I've been focusing on what I can do with the big three (pasta, potatoes, and rice). Post here simple, creative recipes I can make using those three, or simple recipes that are high-carb but don't use any of them, or just any good fat jokes I can make when people gawk at the massive platefuls I bring to the lunch table.

Edit:
This thread's not giving me too many ideas (pancakes were brilliant though. I dunno why I've been focusing so much on dinner and lunch), so I was thinking maybe I should start with a few things I've been cooking recently to get the ball rolling.

I call them "Tub Meals". They're easy to bring with you, reheat, serve, and store. I cook up a huge pot of something and store it in a couple Tupperware tubs.
If I need to go somewhere for a day, I grab a tub. If I'm hungry at home, I scoop out a ladelfull or two onto a plate and stick it in the microwave. Or if I'm really lazy, stick the tub in the microwave.