Taste Tripping Foods

Apparently, people like to eat.

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

Quigibo

Taste Tripping Foods

Postby Quigibo » Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:57 am UTC

Hi everyone! I ordered some miracle berries and I'm thinking of throwing a "taste tripping party" possibly for new years or maybe at a different time. For those of you who have no clue what I'm talking about: Wikipedia article. It basically alters your taste buds to make a really unique tasting experience.

My question is, what foods would you suggest? I've never tried it before, has anyone had experience first hand? I hear sour foods and citrus fruits taste really sweet so I'll probably have some lemons, limes, oranges, and grapefruit. Also I hear balsamic vinegar tastes like chocolate. I want to get the most out of these berries so I'm open to any suggestions. Thanks!
A programmer's last program: Goodbye World!

Dimetrodon

Re: Taste Tripping Foods

Postby Dimetrodon » Wed Dec 23, 2009 6:56 am UTC

Everything you'll find at http://www.cupcakeproject.com/search/label/miracle%20fruit seems like a pretty good start.
:) Best of luck! Tell us how it goes!
Spoiler:

Fear my mammalian skull, my efficient heat-regulating sail, and my two rows of teeth.

mercutio_stencil

Postby mercutio_stencil » Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:58 pm UTC

I tried it, and found it really over-hyped. Actually, my reaction was much like that of the Cupcake Project. It doesn't do anything magic, just kinda switches your perception of sour things. It doesn't do anything else, so (if you haven't already had your party) stick to acidic things. Lemons, grapefruit, vinegar, that kinda stuff. My favourite was citric acid powder. I had some in the house for canning, and I took a spoonful. It still hurt just as much as you would expect, but it did taste delicious.

Aardvarki

Postby Aardvarki » Wed Mar 24, 2010 2:23 pm UTC

I threw a taste tripping party myself, and found the results interesting but overhyped.