Early Science Fiction

A slow, analog alternative to the internet

Moderators: SecondTalon, Moderators General, Prelates

acb

Early Science Fiction

Postby acb » Mon Jun 15, 2009 11:28 am UTC

I searched and couldn't find a thread for this, please point me in the right direction if there is one!

I am just getting into the late 19th/early 20th century science fiction of Jules Verne, Conan Doyle, and H.G Wells. So far I have read 20,000 leagues under the sea and the Lost World, and am currently working my way through the rest of the Professor Challenger series. I remember reading The Time Machine and other stories when I was about 9 and I thought it was amazing, and am looking to get hold of a copy so I can see what I think of it now.

What do you think of these books? Would you let your kids read them? I really enjoy them, although sometimes the views on women and "natives" make me a little uncomfortable. That is probably just the attitude of the time, but it does make the books seem a little dated.

Are there any other authors of this genre you would recommend?

(Lost World Plot Spoiler)
Spoiler:
The extermination of the apemen seemed unnecessary, and unless it is read as a comment on the "white people are superior to the natives" attitude of European explorers back then it spoils the book for me, which is a shame. Any thoughts?

Jorpho

Re: Early Science Fiction

Postby Jorpho » Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:08 pm UTC

There's a book entitled The Science Fiction of Edgar Alan Poe which sounds like a good idea, and does indeed have some really, really nifty bits, like where he tries to work out a physically consistent narrative about taking a balloon to the moon. Alas, a lot of it is a dreadful slog. I never did finish it.

Adacore

Postby Adacore » Wed Jun 17, 2009 2:46 pm UTC