Page 1 of 1

Coup [SIGNUPS CLOSED]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 2:21 am UTC
by Carlington
As previously discussed in the Forum Games Discussion Thread, let's have a lovely friendly game of Coup! :twisted:

Here are the rules (shamelessly taken from boardgamegeek, thanks for the link patzer!)

In Coup, you want to be the last player with influence in the game, with influence being represented by face-down character cards.

Set-up and Cards:
Spoiler:
Each player starts the game with two coins and two influence – i.e., two face-down character cards; the fifteen card deck consists of three copies of five different characters, each with a unique set of powers:

Duke: Take three coins from the treasury. Block someone from taking foreign aid.
Assassin: Pay three coins and try to assassinate another player's character.
Contessa: Block an assassination attempt against yourself.
Captain: Take two coins from another player, or block someone from stealing coins from you.
Ambassador: Draw two character cards from the Court (the deck), choose which (if any) to exchange with your face-down characters, then return two. Block someone from stealing coins from you.


Actions:
Spoiler:
On your turn, you can take any of the actions listed above, regardless of which characters you actually have in front of you, or you can take one of three other actions:

Income: Take one coin from the treasury.
Foreign aid: Take two coins from the treasury.
Coup: Pay seven coins and launch a coup against an opponent, forcing that player to lose an influence. (If you have ten coins or more, you must take this action.)

When you take one of the character actions – whether actively on your turn, or defensively in response to someone else's action – that character's action automatically succeeds unless an opponent challenges you. In this case, if you can't (or don't) reveal the appropriate character, you lose an influence, turning one of your characters face-up. Face-up characters cannot be used, and if both of your characters are face-up, you're out of the game.

If you do have the character in question and choose to reveal it, the opponent loses an influence, then you shuffle that character into the deck and draw a new one, perhaps getting the same character again and perhaps not.

The last player to still have influence – that is, a face-down character – wins the game!

Forum-specific rules:
- If an action can be blocked or challenged, please wait until all players have reacted before moving to the next turn
- If using an Ambassador, the mod will put two cards in an @player spoiler. Read this spoiler, and then list the two cards you wish to return to the deck in an @mod spoiler. Spoilers relating to Ambassador actions may only be read by the mod and the player concerned.
- Players are permitted to communicate privately in-thread through the use of @player spoilers, as this is equivalent to whispering in real life. However, be aware that players are not bound to leave these spoilers unread — even if you whisper, you can be overheard.
- Players must not communicate about this game outside this thread.
- If anything is unclear, feel free to ask.
- In case of ambiguity or dispute, decisions may be appealed within reason. The mod will endeavour to work with players to find a solution that is fair and approved by everyone.

Sign-ups (capped at 7, add lines as needed)
1.
...
7.

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 3:23 am UTC
by Mikemk
Do you reveal what cards and actions you're using to the other characters?

  1. Mikemk

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 4:01 am UTC
by Carlington
You take actions publicly, but you don't need to reveal any cards to take an action, unless you're challenged.

For example, if you had a Duke and a Captain, you can pay three coins to Assassinate someone else's character, and this will succeed. If you're challenged, though, you must either show an Assassin or forfeit one Influence by flipping a card.

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:52 am UTC
by patzer
  1. Mikemk
  2. patzer

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:54 am UTC
by JackHK
1. Mikemk
2. patzer
3. JackHK

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Sun Jun 12, 2016 6:33 pm UTC
by emlightened
  1. Mikemk
  2. patzer
  3. JackHK
  4. emlightened

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 1:08 am UTC
by heuristically_alone
  1. Mikemk
  2. patzer
  3. JackHK
  4. emlightened
  5. heuristically_alone

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Mon Jun 13, 2016 7:16 am UTC
by Lawrencelot
  1. Mikemk
  2. patzer
  3. JackHK
  4. emlightened
  5. heuristically_alone
  6. Lawrencelot

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 12:14 am UTC
by orangedragonfire
  1. Mikemk
  2. patzer
  3. JackHK
  4. emlightened
  5. heuristically_alone
  6. Lawrencelot
  7. orangedragonfire

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 3:47 am UTC
by Mikemk
Ok, let's get started!

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 4:11 am UTC
by Carlington
Mikemk:
Spoiler:
Assassin
Ambassador

patzer:
Spoiler:
Duke
Ambassador

JackHK:
Spoiler:
Contessa
Ambassador

emlightened:
Spoiler:
Assassin
Contessa

heuristically_alone:
Spoiler:
Captain
Captain

Lawrencelot:
Spoiler:
Duke
Duke

orangedragonfire:
Spoiler:
Contessa
Assassin

Court (Mod use only)
Spoiler:
Captain


Coins:

Code: Select all

Mikemk - 2
patzer - 2
JackHK - 2
emlightened - 2
heuristically_alone - 2
Lawrencelot - 2
orangedragonfire - 2


The RNGod has decreed that emlightened goes first. I guess just play on in signup order after that.

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:08 am UTC
by Mikemk
@mod
Spoiler:
When using ambassador, can the ambassador I just used be one of the two cards I put back?

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 5:13 am UTC
by Carlington
@mikemk (nobody else may read):
Spoiler:
Yes, you draw two cards, look at the four cards you have, and put any two back. Well, in this case I guess draw one card, look at the three cards etc.

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:09 am UTC
by Mikemk
@mod
Spoiler:
So, if I use the ambassador, would I only have one card in my hand after?

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:17 am UTC
by Carlington
@mikemk
Spoiler:
No, draw 1 card and put 1 card back in this case.

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:21 am UTC
by Mikemk
@mod
Spoiler:
If I simplified it as "Replace Ambassador with a random card", would I be changing how it works?

Re: Coup [TAKING SIGNUPS]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 6:45 am UTC
by Carlington
@Mikemk:
Spoiler:
Yes, because you can keep your original hand if you want to, for example if it's strategically better than replacing either of the cards.

Re: Coup [SIGNUPS CLOSED]

Posted: Tue Jun 14, 2016 9:23 am UTC
by Lawrencelot
@mod:
Spoiler:
Use the Duke action to block emlightened