Are the other DBMSs like MySQL?

A place to discuss the implementation and style of computer programs.

Moderators: phlip, Moderators General, Prelates

tipo test

Are the other DBMSs like MySQL?

Postby tipo test » Wed Mar 02, 2011 8:48 pm UTC

Well obviously they're different, my actual question is: I'm new at databases and MySQL is the system I have to learn for college. Quite a few times when I had a problem I discovered a new limitation from MySQL. For example minus/except/intersect. In addition the console returns pretty obscure error messages, compared to a programming language debugging features.

Are Oracle and SQL Server much better in terms of SQL standard proximity + retrieving proper errors? Also, feel free to add any other thought.

thoughtfully

Re: Are the other DBMSs like MySQL?

Postby thoughtfully » Wed Mar 02, 2011 9:40 pm UTC

viewtopic.php?f=40&t=15054

tl;dr is Oracle and Postgresql rules, MySQL sucks, but version 5 might be better. Can't say anything to your particular question. I use Postgresql whenever I need something beefy and sqlite when I don't. Except when I'm using some app that requires MySQL, but I haven't dived into to debugging any odd database behavior with those.
Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away.
-- Antoine de Saint-Exupery

headprogrammingczar

Postby headprogrammingczar » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:40 pm UTC

I don't think you read the thread, if you are summarizing it with Oracle on top. Oracle hate is a popular way to pass the time. Postgres is still awesome and MySQL 5 is an improvement, but hasn't gained places. In the long term, MySQL 5 is going to be much worse than 4, as Oracle took down the older versions from their site, and they reintroduce bugs that are years old and have known good patches (in their own bug tracker!).
<quintopia> You're not crazy. you're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!
<Weeks> You're the goddamn headprogrammingspock!